

Statement on the Putin Regime's Invasion of Ukraine

by the Doctoral Researchers of the Berlin Graduate School for Global and Transregional Studies (BGTS) of the Cluster of Excellence "Contestations of the Liberal Script (SCRIPTS)"

We, the undersigned doctoral researchers of SCRIPTS, unequivocally condemn the Putin regime's invasion of Ukraine. This unprovoked aggression against the sovereign state of Ukraine is a violation of international law and a terrible human tragedy. As scholars, our duty does not simply end at intellectual truth. We are beholden to a moral truth that may call upon us to cross professional boundaries to uphold that which is morally and ethically correct. With the Putin regime's aggression against the nation and people of Ukraine, the ethical lines are clearly drawn. There can be no equivocation, no doubt that the Putin regime is responsible for the deaths and suffering of Ukrainians and all people living in Ukraine as well as the violent repression and exploitation of Russians. We cannot take a detached, studiously neutral view of this. We cannot sit on the sidelines of history. We must condemn this murderous aggression with one voice: the voice of an international community of scholars. We must declare that we will neither overlook, nor legitimize this brutality. We stand with the people of Ukraine in their fight for survival. We stand with the people of Russia who oppose this war and the imperialist kleptocracy of the Putin regime. We stand with the people who are fleeing the war, including those who have faced difficulties crossing the border on the basis of race, gender, religion, or nationality. The invasion of Ukraine by the Putin regime represents a gross violation of international treaties, self-determination, and human rights. We call for an immediate ceasefire and withdrawal of all Russian troops from Ukraine.

BGTS Doctoral Researchers:

Lukas Antoine Kevin Axe

Robert Benson Susan Bergner

Carolin Deuflhard	Andrea D. Miranda Avilés
Adam Fastholm	Rasmus Ollroge
Felix Garten	Keith Prushankin
Greta Groß	Tara Rai
Johanna Heß	Nieves Fernández Rodríguez
Camille Kasavan	Maria Uttenthal
Tobias Klee	Jaša Veselinovič
Thea Kirsch	Ana Werkstetter Caravaca
Allison Koh	Lunting Wu
Nora Kürzdörfer	Sukayna Younger-Khan
Martyna Linartas	Mikhail Zabotkin

The statement is supported by:

- Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel, Director of SCRIPTS
- Prof. Dr. Michael Zürn, Director of SCRIPTS
- Prof. Dr. Schirin Amir-Moazami, SCRIPTS Principal Investigator
- Prof. Dr. Gülay Çağlar, SCRIPTS Principal Investigator
- Prof. Mark Hallerberg, Ph.D., SCRIPTS Principal Investigator
- Prof. Macartan Humphreys, Ph.D., SCRIPTS Principal Investigator
- Prof. Dr. Steffen Mau, SCRIPTS Principal Investigator
- Prof. Dr. Francisco O. Ramirez, Professor of Education and (By courtesy) Sociology,
- Graduate School of Eduction, Stanford University; SCRIPTS Alumni Senior Visiting Fellow

Prof. Dr. Thomas Risse, Director of the Berlin International College of Research and Graduate Training (BIRT) at SCRIPTS

- Dr. Roberta Astolfi, Postdoctoral Research Fellow
- Dr. Agnes Blome, Postdoctoral Research Fellow
- Dr. Alexander Kalgin, Senior Visiting Fellow
- Dr. Cédric Koch, BGTS Alumni
- Dr. Kriszta Kovács, Postdoctoral Researcher
- Dr. Silviya Lechner, Senior Visiting Fellow
- Dr. Anne Menzel, Postdoctoral Researcher
- Dr. Janika Spannagel, Postdoctoral Researcher
- Camila Acosta, Student Assistant